… Le Monde – the world as I see it …

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This time I visited Le Monde which was on the “slightly further from Central station” side of Surry Hills. Down to earth and cozy were the words that I would use to describe this long standing cafe (I just found that they have been opened for over 20 years!)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The place feels like a local family owned little cafe to me; nothing fancy but warm and welcoming. It was quickly filled with people even though it was a weekday afternoon that we went.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I am not really a super matcha fan so I didn’t go for a matcha latte. Their coffee, being rich and delivious had lived up to my expectation. I would like to try their coconut espresso on my next visit.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I opt for savoury –  the Crunchy Potato Rosti with smoked salmon, roasted cherry tomatoes feta cheese, spinach, poached egg and saffron. I was satisfied with a few different kinds of taste and texture; the potato rosti was crunchy and fragrant where the egg in the middle was soft and runny, and the pistachios on top had added a different type of crunchiness to the whole dish. I really liked having a bit of feta on the side but I wished that the spinach had a bit more of saltiness.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My friend Daphne ordered the famous Matcha Hotcakes with mascarpone cream, fresh fruits, toasted grains and coconut espresso. I was quite impressed by the delicate and pretty presentation of this Asian fusion dessert. In general I think they are very good at mixing different tastes together.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I agree with the reviews online saying that their dishes are priced reasonably. Though the food portion at Le Monde is not super duper huge, I could certainly feel their sincerity of adding a lot of ingredients into each dish.

Le Monde Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

 

Leave a Reply

